• Jonathan Nott
  • Posts
  • I tured 37 this week, here are 37 things about me

I tured 37 this week, here are 37 things about me

Perils of a young man about to turn 40

I’m almost 40!

I keep telling people… as if if turning 40 is some scary feat.

At least that’s what I’ve always thought.

On Wednesday I turned 37, so I’m basically 40…

Since a teen and young adult I always dreaded the day I would turn 40.

There’s something about that number that indicates you’re…OLD!

I feel young though, just wait until I share my list of things…

Everyone fears becoming old, but the truth is, no one ever feels old.

If people in their 50s would read this, they’d laugh.

If I was about to turn 50, people in their 60s would laugh.

People I work with say they’re “hitting old age” and “developing back problems” and they are not even 30!

Mate! You’re young!

I do things that Millenials do, which are still considered “Young”

You’ll see it in the list I’m about to share.

Old is relative.

Old is scary.

Yet, no one ever is old.

My mother in law who is in her 70’s calls people in their 60’s young.

What we consider “Old” is actually the older generations.

Yes older people are a certain number of years older. But generationally they are differnt, they think, act, behave different.

Older generations don’t understand newer generations, therefore younger gens see them as “Old” and fear becoming “that”.

To cut to the point, you won’t become old. Especially if you have friends in your generation.

You’re always young.

I’m still young.

I feel young.

I’m flexible.

I’m energetic.

Anyway, that’s what I’m processing lately. The communication gap between generations.

Here’s a random list of 37 things i’ve done, it was hard to keep it this short…

  • Married at 21

  • Divorced at 27

  • Play the drums

  • I can speak Dutch

  • Played the clarinet

  • 15 years in a 9 to 5

  • Taught myself guitar

  • Christian for 25 years

  • Metal and Rock music

  • Born in Sydney Australia

  • Skateboarded for 10 years

  • Taught myself how to sing

  • Moved to The Netherlands

  • Topped the class in Science

  • Travelled to 6 of 7 continents

  • Was 56kg - bulked up to 68kg

  • Prefer Calisthenics over Gym

  • Done multiple Psilocybin trips

  • Photography is my latest hobby

  • I love Fantasy and Sci-Fi genres

  • Work in IT as a Helpdesk Manager

  • Recent Dungeons and Dragons nut

  • Drummer in a rock band for 6 years

  • Performed Greece Lightning at school

  • Partnered in a digital marketing agency

  • 6 years studying personality psychology

  • Game of Thrones was the greatest series

  • Became an Instagram influencer in comedy

  • Back to the Future is the greatest movie trilogy

  • Fell in love with a Dutch girl, married again at 36

  • My current wife and ex-wife are very good friends

  • Board games with friends and family is the best

  • I prefer camping and wildlife than hotels and cities

  • Video games (Goldeneye, Zelda, GTA, RDR, Skyrim)

  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles was the best cartoon

  • I've watched every James Bond movie multiple times

  • I enjoy philosophising about life, existence and consciousness

Hope you enjoyed some insight into my life!

Anyway It’s been a great week, I had a great birthday and all my lovely friends gave me love!

All my Twitter friends made me feel awesome!

Surround yourself with good friends, it will change your life.

Speaking of Twitter, I’m growing an awesome following and giving away free coaching calls to help people with their content creation game.

If you’re interested, shoot me a DM saying “I love potatoes”

Twitter - Content creation and Philosphy

Instagram - Fighting the algorithym and Photography

Cheers!

-Jono